+36 1 224 6778   

logo mtakk v3

btk intezeti honlap fejlecek 07

A BTK Filozófiai Intézet szeretettel meghív minden érdeklődőt

Carl Hoefer (University of Barcelona)

Scientific realism and direct reference to unobservable natural kinds

című angol nyelvű, Genoveva Martí szerzőtárssal közös munkán alapuló, online intézeti előadására.

Az előadás angol nyelvű absztraktja:

In this talk I continue my defense of a version of scientific realism, Tautological Scientific Realism (TSR), that rests on the claim that, excluding some areas of fundamental physics about which doubts are entirely justified, many areas of contemporary science cannot be coherently imagined to be false other than via postulation of radically skeptical scenarios, which are not relevant to the realism debate in philosophy of science. I will discuss, specifically, the threats of meaning change and reference failure associated with the Kuhnian tradition, which depend on a descriptivist approach to meaning, and will argue that descriptivism is not the right account of the meaning and reference of theoretical terms. My co-author, Genoveva Martí, and I suggest that an account along the lines of the causal-historical theory of reference (in the tradition of Kripke and Putnam) provides a more faithful picture of how terms for unobservable theoretical entities and properties come to refer. We argue that this picture works particularly well for TSR, and handles the much-discussed problem case of ‘phlogiston’ better than rival accounts such as Psillos’ causal descriptivism.

Kommentátor: Gömöri Márton (BTK FI)

Időpont: 2021. január 26. (kedd), 14. óra

Az eseményhez csatlakozni lehet:

* számítógéppel vagy okostelefonnal: az (ajánlott) Zoom alkalmazáson keresztül a 924 7405 7393 meeting ID és a 000000 passcode megadásával vagy böngésző használatával a következő linken:

https://tinyurl.com/btk-fi-hoefer

* telefonvonalon a +36-1-779-9126 telefonszámon keresztül a 924 7405 7393 meeting ID (és szükség esetén a 000000 passcode) megadásával.

Az előadásról készült felvétel az alábbi linkre kattintva érhető el:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lNO-dML3-lM&ab_channel=B%C3%B6lcs%C3%A9szettudom%C3%A1nyiKutat%C3%B3k%C3%B6zpont

Kapcsolat

Cím

1097 Budapest
Tóth Kálmán utca 4.

Telefon

+36 1 224 6778

E-mail